Emma, Sick Puppies & Lacuna Coil

So, have I told you lately that I think Emma Anzai of Sick Puppies is adorable?!! No? Well, I do. Still. And, she is sooooooo adorable in this pic below in concert with her hair all up and things. I found this pic on Cryptic Rock“The Gravesite For Your Music & Horror Obsession”. It’s a cool website. They even interviewed Emma about the current tour, her influences, and, her favorite horror movies. Read that interview right HERE.

EmmaAnzai-07B

Yes, I’m still loving Sick Puppies! And, I still listen to my CD mix in my car whenever I get bored with Rover’s Morning Glory (on the drive into work) and The Alan Cox Show (on the drive back home) on WMMS. So, since Sick Puppies are currently on the road with Lacuna Coil on Revolver magazine’s The Hottest Chicks in Hard Rock Tour, I decided to give that Italian band a re-evaluation …

LacunaCoil-01C

Lacuna Coil is an alternative metal band from Milan fronted by the very beautiful Cristina Scabbia [and Andrea Ferro, a dude]. I have most of Lacuna Coil‘s albums in my vast music library, but, the band’s sound, which employs that male/female [harsh/melodic] vocal thing, never really stuck with me. I like the Milan-based alternative metal band Exilia, fronted by raspy-throated Masha, far more. However, Lacuna Coil‘s cover of Depeche Mode‘s “Enjoy the Silence” is one of my most played tracks by that band. Anyway, I decided, just this morning, to start my re-evaluation by listening to Lacuna Coil‘s latest album Broken Crown Halo (2014). And, well …

I love this album. Like, a lot. Will Lacuna Coil become my next obsession? Maybe. But, if Cristina Scabbia were the only vocalist, they definitely would. Ferro doesn’t suck or anything, I just don’t like dual vocals, except for, maybe, in the band We Are The in Crowd. And, even with that band, I’d much rather listen to adorable female vocalist Tay Jardine solo. Male, female, whatever – just pick one. Dual vocals are only good for a duet here and there. So, would I start to dislike Sick Puppies if Emma Anzai contributed more lead vocals? Hell, no. Sick Puppies are the exception, although I would prefer an Emma Anzai side project instead. ANZAI (all caps with a cool logo) – great name for that side-project, Emma. Think about it. Anyway …

Broken Crown Halo is, according to the band (via Blabbermouth.net), a “cinematic album” that is “a dark vision of a near future.” They also said that the album was recorded with “the influence of classic Italian horror movies and bands like Goblin.” Goblin frequently collaborated with Italian horror auteur Dario Argento. Broken Crown Halo is definitely my favorite Lacuna Coil album, since it’s the first to demand my attention and compel me to listen from the first track through to the last track. The album opens with “Nothing Stands In Our Way”, and, I was immediately drawn into Lacuna Coil‘s mixing of giallo horror elements into their own brand of Italian alternative metal. Cristina Scabbia‘s seductive wail, in the verses, grasped me, while the anthemic dual-vocal chorus tightened its vice-like grip on me. There is no denying the power of a great first track, but, there is no bait-and-switch – the album is filled with this band’s strongest melodies to date. Other favorites, after the first spin, are definitely “I Forgive (But I Won’t Forget Your Name)”, “Zombies”, and “I Burn In You”. However, this album’s best track, is its last track, “Long Cold Day”, a solemn, epic ballad in which Scabbia shines, in a dark kind of way, on a solo vocal. I’ve read some other reviews of this album (due April 1), and, I seem to be alone in my opinion, but, I like what I like.

Now, I’ll work backwards through their discography hoping I’ll find something I missed. But, for now, let’s enjoy the video for Lacuna Coil‘s version of “Enjoy the Silence”

Next, it’ll be Eyes Set to Kill because (1) they’re also on tour with Sick Puppies and Lacuna Coil, (2) I have most of their albums in my music library, and, (3) their sound hasn’t stuck with me yet.

Leave a Reply

