The Pretenders’ Chrissie Hynde

This is the cover art for Chrissie Hynde‘s first ever solo album Stockholm (2014) …

ChrissieHynde-01C

Wow. Chrissie Hynde is 62 years young, and, she looks amazing in that photo! I want that poster hanging on my bedroom wall! Hynde was born in Akron, Ohio, which is just 40 miles south of Cleveland, where I live, so, she’s kind of a hometown girl. Of course, she formed The Pretenders in England, but, she’s still a native Ohioan.

I’ve always loved The Pretenders. I mean I’m not an obsessive fan, but, I do have their entire discography in my music library. Learning To Crawl (1984) is, overall, The Pretenders‘ best album, but, “Message of Love”, from Pretenders II (1981), is one of my favorite songs by them. However, Get Close (1986) was released when I was doing time at Bowling Green State University, so “My Baby” and “Don’t Get me Wrong” bring back memories. In addition, the power ballad “I’ll Stand By You”, from Last of the Independents (1994), despite it’s pop pretense, is another favorite. Oh, and, The Pretenders‘ version of “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” is one of my favorite modern Christmas songs. In fact, it’s #6 on my My Rockin’ Christmas Playlist #1.

OK, I’ll have to download Stockholm come Tuesday (June 10), but, for now, let’s watch Chrissie perform “Dark Sunglasses” (from that album) live on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon …

ChrissieHynde-02B

Note: I just made the album cover my desktop at work, which always features female rockers or adorable actresses. However, Chrissie Hynde is officially the oldest woman ever ever to have graced my desktop. And, I’m sure she’ll be the oldest woman ever to have – well, never mind.

Leave a Reply

