Zombie Slayer

Zombie-Slayer-by-digitalcarbine

In my previous post, I mentioned freelance illustrator Travis Pitts‘ popular Threadless t-shirt design of Scooby-Doo‘s Velma Dinkley as a bad-ass zombie hunter. So, I went to the Threadless website, post-post, with the intention of purchasing one of those t-shirts for myself. But, then I found “Zombie Slayer” (above) by freelance illustrator digital carbine [Facebook]. Now, I’m torn between which of those two designs I want! Maybe I’ll get both.

So, once again, I was intrigued by a very cool image, and set out into the Internets to see what else I could find. Soon, I stumbled upon this zombie slayer …

Sketchys SF - Zombie Slayer-3-XL

The lovely zombie slayer (above), who looks like she’s ready to kick zombie ass, was captured by photographer Johnny Crash [Johnny Crash Photography] in a photo set taken at a 2012 Dr. Sketchys SF session. Dr. Sketchys Anti-Art School is “the world’s premier alt.drawing movement” where “artists draw glamorous underground performers in an atmosphere of boozy conviviality.” The lovely zombie slayer is Fernanda who is, I’m guessing, a glamorous underground performer. That’s all I know about her, but, I’d like to know more.

Sketchys SF - Zombie Slayer-66-XL

Johnny Crash‘s entire 172-count photo set can be viewed here. The set includes photos of Fernanda posing with various weapons (guns, swords, baseball bats, severed arms, etc.) at a San Francisco bar to inspire the artists attending the session. The set also includes some of those artists’ finished works. You can purchase some or all of those awesome photos at SmugMug (here). Here’s one more …

Sketchys SF - Zombie Slayer-57-XL

I get that the events hosted by Dr. Sketchys are for up-and-coming artists to hone their life drawing skills; but, Fernanda looks so bad-ass, I want to see her image superimposed over various zombie apocalypse backdrops, or better yet – in a zombie fan film! She would look awesome as digital carbine‘s zombie slayer!

Here are a few cool zombie slayers in more appropriate settings that I found on deviantART

zombie_slayer_by_grantbeecherphoto-d55e9s0

“Zombie Slayer” by GrantBeecherPhoto

angela_zombie_hunter_by_chewie599-d4qimln

“Angela… Zombie Hunter” by CHEWIE599 [model: Scarlet-Quinn]

zombie_killer_by_bueller345-d4ndokn

“Zombie Killer” by bueller345 (Rich Johnson)

“Zombie Killer” (above) is from a cool photo set by bueller345, but, “Zombie Killer” is my favorite. However, this one (below) is also quite lovely …

The concept of the photo set is a bride and groom fighting zombies on their honeymoon. The married couple is Alex and Bill McCoy who are professional make-up artists, and the photo set, titled “Till Death Do Us Part”, was their own unique way of doing a “Trash the Dress” shoot. Very cool.

OK, I’m getting digital carbine‘s “Zombie Slayer” Threadless t-shirt design, instead of Travis Pitts“We’ve Got Some Work To Do Now” design. “Zombie Slayer” received an average score of 3.37 (of 5) from 483 people, while “We’ve Got Some Work To Do Now” received an average score of 3.91 from 1,134 people. I always take the least popular choice. I’ve made up my mind. I think.

Leave a Reply

