Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness

I don’t know much about the Marvel Zombies series (2005-present) or its crossover Marvel Zombies vs. The Army of Darkness (2007), but I do know a lot about the Army of Darkness comic series (1992-present), Sam Raimi‘s Evil Dead films (1981-93), sarcastic hero Ash, and Ash portrayer Bruce Campbell. And, obviously, I love zombies, so I couldn’t resist when I stumbled upon this fan film (above)!

Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness, the (awesome!) fan film, was directed and co-written by Brian Rosenthal for WTFLOL. The film stars David Vonhippchen (Ash), Michael Angel Colon (Zombie Wolverine), Eli David (Peter Parker), Meaghan Lehrer (Gwen Stacey), Kolin Roberts (Zombie Iron Man), Benjamin “Panjo” Sweets (Zombie Spider-Man), and Dan Rollo (Zombie Hulk).

First, this film looks awesome! It’s dark, well-photographed and delivers a big-budget feel on a low budget! Second, Zombie Wolverine is awesome! I love that he’s appropriately short and stocky (unlike Hugh Jackman). I would have loved to have seen Zombie X-23 fighting Ash instead, but I don’t think she was even in Marvel Zombies at all. Third, Ash is even awesome-er! David Vonhippchen has Ash’s look and snarkasm down! He and director Brian Rosenthal need to get together and make Army of Darkness vs. Hack/Slash (2013)! Wishful thinking! Finally, I love the final shots of Gwen gripping Ash’s thigh in a very cool homage to the Army of Darkness (1993) movie poster (here)!

Marvel-Zombies-Army-of-Darkness-fan-film-still-02

Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness

Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness, apparently, was taken down after only 9 days when it was originally posted back in 2013 because Marvel Comics got their panties all in a bunch. I don’t get why comic book conglomerates demand that fan films be taken down. It’s free advertising. Like I said, I don’t know much about Marvel Zombies but, after watching this fan film, I’m going to pick up, at least, the Marvel Zombies vs. The Army of Darkness graphic novel the next time I stop by my local comic shop.

Oh, and this film leads me, once again, to the realization that a lot of shit goes down in parking garages.

Update: So it seems the guys over at WTFLOL are planning a sequel to Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness! In responding to a comment on their Facebook page about doing a part two, they said: We’re shooting it in June and releasing a couple of months later. Mark your calendars!

2 thoughts on “Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness

  1. Pingback: Marvel Zombies vs. Army of Darkness « Girls, Guns & Zombies!

  2. Pingback: OMG! It’s Cassie Hack! | My Heart Explodes

Leave a Reply

